Archive for August, 2011

O Brother, Where Art Thou? – Deluxe Edition Out Today

Tuesday, August 23rd, 2011

It has been a decade since one of the most unlikely successes in music history was released.  O Brother, Where Art Thou? is one of the 10 top-selling soundtracks of all time, the No. 1-selling soundtrack and the 17th biggest album of the 21st Century, with more than nine million albums sold.  Today, Universal Music celebrates this 10th Anniversary with an expanded two-CD set — O Brother, Where Art Thou? – Deluxe Edition — for which T Bone was personally involved in all aspects of this release.

This special album can be found at, at iTunes and at all physical music retailers.

The album that rocketed bluegrass, roots and Americana music from the 20th Century into the new millennium features a 14-track bonus disc, with all but one track recorded during original sessions for the film.  This release marks the first time these tracks have been made available in any format.

The original O Brother, Where Art Thou? soundtrack from the 2000 film—written, directed and produced by the Coen Brothers and starring George Clooney—shot to No.1 on the Billboard Top 200 and Country charts and became a bona fide music phenomenon, despite scant radio airplay.  Along with Album Of The Year honors, the album won GRAMMYs® for “I Am A Man Of Constant Sorrow” performed by Dan Tyminski, Harley Allen and Pat Enright, and “O Death” by the legendary Dr. Ralph Stanley.

The complete track listing for O Brother, Where Art Thou? – Deluxe Edition is as follows:

Disc 1:
1.  “Po Lazarus” – James Carter and The Prisoners
2.  “Big Rock Candy Mountain“ – Harry McClintock
3.  “You Are My Sunshine” – Norman Blake
4.  “Down To The River To Pray” – Alison Krauss
5.  “I Am A Man Of Constant Sorrow (Radio Station Version)” – The Soggy Bottom Boys
6.  “Hard Time Killing Floor Blues” – Chris Thomas King
7.  “I Am A Man Of Constant Sorrow” – Norman Blake
8.  “Keep On The Sunny Side ” – The Whites
9.  “I’ll Fly Away ” – Gillian Welch
10.  “Didn’t Leave Nobody But The Baby” – Emmylou Harris
11.  “In The Highways” – The Peasall Sisters
12.  “I Am Weary (Let Me Rest)” – The Cox Family
13.  “I Am A Man Of Constant Sorrow” – John Hartford
14.  “O Death” – Ralph Stanley
15.  “In The Jailhouse Now” – The Soggy Bottom Boys
16.  “I Am A Man Of Constant Sorrow” – The Soggy Bottom Boys
17.  “Indian War Whoop” – John Hartford
18.  “Lonesome Valley” – Fairfield Four
19.  “Angel Band” – The Stanley Brothers

Disc 2:
1.  “Hard Time Killing Floor Blues” – Colin Linden
2.  “You Are My Sunshine” – Alan O’Bryant
3.  “Tishomingo Blues” – John Hartford
4.  “I’ll Fly Away” – Kossoy Sisters
5.  “Big Rock Candy Mountain” – Van Dyke Parks
6.  “Tom Devil” – Ed Lewis & The Prisoners
7.  “Keep On The Sunny Side” – The Cox Family
8.  “Angel Band” – Sarah Peasall
9.  “Big Rock Candy Mountain” – Norman Blake
10.  “Little Sadie” – Norman Blake
11.  “In The Highways” – The Cox Family
12.  “Hogfoot” – John Hartford
13.  “The Lord Will Make A Way” – Fairfield Four
14.  “In The Jailhouse Now” – Harley Allen

Jeff Bridges’ Self-Titled Album Out Today

Tuesday, August 16th, 2011

Jeff Bridges self-titled album, produced by T Bone, is in stores today and is already ranked #2 on Amazon’s Best Sellers In Music.  The album is the culmination of a 30-year friendship between Bridges and T Bone, which has seen the two work together on such highly popular films like The Big Lebowski and Crazy Heart (the film that earned both Bridges and Burnett their first Academy Awards).  Jeff has been making multiple TV appearances in support of the album’s release, and you can check out his website for more details.